Ronaldo set for new record

If he scores against Armenia he will bring his tally to twenty-three.

His vital late winner against Denmark was his twenty-second goal in UEFA European Championship games, equalling a record held by Hakan Sükür (Turkey) and Jon Dahl Tomasson (Denmark).

Portugal’s all time leading scorer with fifty-one was also the youngest player to achieve a century of caps for his country at the age of 27 years, 8 months and 11 days. Portugal coach Fernando Santos has called-up defenders José Bosingwa, Raphael Guerreiro and Tiago Gomes for the injured Coentrão, Eliseu and Antunes.

There is also a recall for striker Hélder Postiga.

Former FC Porto and Chelsea full-back Bosingwa, who can play on the right or the left, had his international career abruptly cut short in similar fashion to Ricardo Carvalho after falling out with Paulo Bento.
Santos recalled Carvalho in his first Portugal squad and the Monaco centre-back responded with a magnificent man-of-the-match performance against Denmark.

Fernando Santos said, “the Armenia game is decisive for us. The victory against Denmark will only be worth it if we beat Armenia. We have to be well prepared because it won’t be an easy match; it will be a tough one. This team were winning in Denmark until late in the game and against Serbia only let in an equaliser at the end. I’ve got every confidence in these players to win the game, but it will be necessary to run hard, work hard and play a great game. It’s fundamental we beat Armenia.” Portugal are currently in third place in Group I having lost one (at home to Albania) and won one (away to Denmark) of their games so far, but are only one point behind leaders Denmark. Kick-off is 7.45pm and fans are advised to arrive early for this all important game.

Full squad:
Goalkeepers: Anthony Lopes (Lyon), Beto (Sevilha), Rui Patrício (Sporting). Defenders: Bosingwa (Trabzonspor), Bruno Alves (Fenerbahçe), Cédric (Sporting), José Fonte (Southampton), Pepe (Real Madrid), Raphael Guerreiro (Lorient), Ricardo Carvalho (Monaco), Tiago Gomes (Braga). Midfielders: Adrien (Sporting), João Mário (Sporting), William Carvalho (Sporting), André Gomes (Valencia), João Moutinho (Monaco), Tiago (Atletico Madrid). Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Danny (Zenit), Éder (SC Braga), Hélder Postiga (La Coruna), Nani (Sporting), Ricardo Quaresma (FC Porto), Vieirinha (Wolfsburg).

Leave us a reply