FIFPro Nominee Cristiano Ronaldo Comes Second Behind Lionel Messi in FIFA Award

Cristiano Ronaldo, Andres Iniesta, Ricardo Kaka, Lionel Messi, and Xavi Hernandez - FIFA Player of the Year Award top 5After winning the first ever FIFA Puskas Award, Cristiano Ronaldo was left with a bit more than just that. The Portugal and Real Madrid forward also clinched a prize like the other ten nominees that made it into FIFPro World XI.

Over 50,000 professional players around the entire world voted for their ideal starting XI based on the performances shown in the last twelve months.

On Monday night at the FIFA Player of the Year award ceremony in Zurich, FIFPro’s World XI was revealed to the media and to the whole public.

There were no major surprises as Cristiano Ronaldo didn’t miss out from the group. The 2008 Ballon d’Or and FIFA World Player of the Year winner made for the third time in a row in the starting XI.

Cristiano Ronaldo Fan gives you the FIFA/FIFPro World XI list:

Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas (Spain, Real Madrid)

Defenders: Dani Alves (Brazil, Barcelona); John Terry (England, Chelsea); Nemanja Vidic (Serbia, Manchester United); Patrice Evra (France, Manchester United).

Midfielders: Xavi Hernandez (Spain, Barcelona); Andres Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona); Steven Gerrard (England, Liverpool).

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona); Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid); Fernando Torres (Spain, Liverpool).

Cristiano Ronaldo also made it into the top three for the FIFA Player of the Year awards for the third time in succession.

Lionel Messi grabbed the accolade with a crashing margin though, but Cristiano Ronaldo still beat off the likes of Andres Iniesta, Xavi, and Kaka, to take the second place.

Cristiano Ronaldo Fan gives you the full list with the results of the FIFA Player of the Year award:

1)Lionel Messi: 1,073

2)Cristiano Ronaldo: 352

3)Xavi Hernandez: 196

4)Kaka: 190

5)Andres Iniesta: 134

Angela Asante, CRF Chief Editor

Leave us a reply