Cristiano, Costa and Vela to battle for best 2013/14 La Liga forward

Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo, former Atletico Madrid striker Diego Costa and Real Sociedad star Carlos Vela have been named the three finalists for the LFP’s ‘Best Striker of 2013/14′ award, which will be announced at the  ‘2014 LFP Awards Ceremony’ on 27 October.

The trio led their respective teams in goals last season and won over fans and critics alike with their skill and effeciency in their performances last season.

Reigning Ballon d’Or winner, Cristiano Ronaldo leads the trio having won the Golden Boot by scoring a league-leading 31 goals in 30 La Liga contests (1.03 goals/games average), making it the fourth year in a row that the Portuguese international captain has scored over 30 goals in a season. Cristiano also registering a league-leading 216 shots on goal.

Diego Costa made a big-money move to Chelsea this past summer on the heels of a historic season which saw his 27 goals in 35 La Liga contests (.77 goals/games average) power Atleti to their first La Liga title in 18 years.

Real Sociedad’s Carlo Vela rounds out the list of the top strikers, with the Mexican scoring 16 goals in 37 matches (.43 goals/games average) and while the numbers may pale in comparison to his counterparts, it was a single-season high for Vela, who almost single-handidly kept his team in European contension for the second straight season.

Former winner and four-time Ballon d’Or winner, Leo Messi did not make the list after a season plagued by a lingering hamstring injury.

The winner will be announced at the LFP Awards Gala 2014, which will be held next 27th October.

Many critics already predicted about Cristiano Ronaldo winning the award. Cristiano will be happy to bag yet another award this year.

Leave us a reply